IEC 61511 recognises the need for HAZOP update during the Safety Life Cycle. Even without plant modification, it is recommended to update HRA every five years. With time on its hands, the PSC-Team decided to update the HAZOP of Death Star 1.

Many persons of a certain age remember the impact of George Lucas’s original Star Wars when it arrived in movie theatres in 1977. Over forty years later, many engineers of a certain age are still obsessed with the technical details of the film. As the PSC-Team considered how to best utilise its time during Corona-lockdown, a priority activity was to refresh our ‘Procedure for HAZOP / LOPA via video conference’. As subject matter, we chose to revalidate the HAZOP for Death Star 1, the moon-sized, deep-space mobile battle station constructed by the Galactic Empire, that appears in the first Star Wars Film. Unsurprisingly, there have been a number of previous efforts to carry out risk analysis of the Death Star, in an attempt to reveal its fatal flaw. The PSC-Team chose the following paper as basis for the revalidation (What the Death Star can tell us about Ergonomics Methods).

Source: Haynes Imperial Death Star Manual

Here are some of the HAZOP-Update highlights:

  • Previous Risk Analysis migrated to ExSILentia
  • Node re-hazopped using the procedural guideword technique:
    • Thermal exhaust port – Expel excess energy (Task Step 2.1.1.5)
  • Operational ‘lessons learned’ reviewed at the start of the Workshop:
    • DS-1 five-years successful operation, including 14 planets destroyed and 22 Rebel Alliance attacks repelled
    • Maintenance budget constraints were identified as a concern
    • Nuisance alarms have been temporarily bridged
  • Previous HRA recommendations were reviewed and ‘closed-out’
  • Risk ranking (missing from the previous HRA) was carried out to determine if existing safeguards were sufficient
  • Additional causes were identified, analysed and new recommendations made

The Team concluded that the HAZOP update technique per IEC 61511 was an appropriate method for analysing the hazards of a 120km-diameter galactic superweapon. Despite 5-years operational experience, risk ranking identified further actions. Lack of original design assumptions and inadequate as-built documentation limited the HAZOP update effectiveness.

PSC provides independent Chairman and Scribe services for HAZOP and LOPA in accordance with IEC 61511 and already has positive experience in leading HAZOP / LOPA Workshop via video conferencing. Please download our DS-1 HAZOP Update report here.

Spoiler: HAZOP-Update did not reveal the ‘fatal flaw’

IEC 61511 erkennt die Notwendigkeit einer HAZOP-Aktualisierung während des Sicherheitslebenszyklus an. Auch ohne Anlagenmodifikation wird empfohlen, die HRA alle fünf Jahre zu aktualisieren. Das PSC-Team beschloss, das HAZOP von Death Star 1 zu aktualisieren.

Viele Personen eines bestimmten Alters erinnern sich an die Auswirkungen von George Lucas‘ ursprünglichem Star Wars, als es 1977 in die Kinos kam. Über vierzig Jahre später sind viele Ingenieure eines bestimmten Alters immer noch von den technischen Aspekten des Films besessen. Als das PSC-Team überlegte, wie es seine Zeit während der Corona-Sperrung am besten nutzen kann, bestand eine vorrangige Aktivität darin, das Verfahren für „HAZOP/LOPA per Videokonferenz“ zu aktualisieren. Als Thema haben wir uns dazu entschieden, das HAZOP für Death Star 1, die mondgroße Weltraum-Kampfstation des Galaktischen Reiches, die im ersten Star-Wars-Film erscheint, zu validieren. Es ist nicht überraschend, dass bereits mehrere Anstrengungen unternommen wurden, eine Risikoanalyse des Todessterns durchzuführen, um dessen fatalen Fehler aufzudecken. Das PSC-Team wählte das folgende Papier als Grundlage für die Aktualisierung (engl.: „What the Death Star can tell us about Ergonomics Methods“).

Hier sind einige der HAZOP-Update-Highlights:

  • Eine frühere Risikoanalyse wurde in der ExSILentia-Software migriert.
  • Der Knoten, der mithilfe der prozeduralen HAZOP-Leitworte erneut untersucht wurden, war:
    • Thermal exhaust port – Expel excess energy (Task Step 2.1.1.5:)
  • Zu Beginn des Workshops wurden betriebliche „Lessons Learned“ besprochen:
    • fünf Jahre erfolgreiche Operation des DS-1, darunter 14 zerstörte Planeten und 22 abgewehrte Angriffe der Rebellenallianz
    • Einschränkungen des Wartungsbudgets wurden festgestellt
    • Störalarme wurden vorübergehend überbrückt
  • Die früheren HRA-Empfehlungen wurden überprüft und „geschlossen“.
  • Das Risikoranking (das in der vorherigen HRA fehlt) wurde durchgeführt, um festzustellen, ob die vorhandenen Sicherheitsvorkehrungen ausreichend waren.
  • Zusätzliche Ursachen wurden identifiziert, analysiert und neue Empfehlungen abgegeben.

Das Team kam zu dem Schluss, dass die HAZOP-Aktualisierung gemäß IEC 61511 eine geeignete Methode zur Analyse der Gefahren einer galaktischen Superwaffe ist. Trotz 5-jähriger operativer Erfahrung wurden durch das Risikoranking weitere Maßnahmen ermittelt. Das Fehlen ursprünglicher Planungsgrundlagen und eine unzureichende Bestandsdokumentation schränkten die Wirksamkeit des HAZOP-Updates ein.

PSC bietet unabhängige Chairman- und Scribe-Services für HAZOP und LOPA gemäß IEC 61511 an und hat bereits positive Erfahrungen mit der Leitung des HAZOP/LOPA-Workshops per Videokonferenz. Bitte laden Sie hier unseren DS-1 HAZOP Update Bericht herunter.

Spoiler: HAZOP-Update hat den „fatalen Fehler“ nicht aufgedeckt